Crafty Ladies

Yesterday morning we had a “craft day” at my friend Amber’s house. She’s actually one of my neighbors and lives right across the road from us. So, I only had to drag my supplies about 100 ft!

My mom happens to be visiting this week so it was nice to be able to get away and be with friends for the day without chasing a toddler!

The first important thing about a craft day is the food! Amber made the CUTEST and TASTIEST sausage/egg pockets. They were heart-shaped! That girl is amazing!

The Krispie Kreme donuts were so tempting…

Yummy (virgin) mimosas w/ frozen fruit…there were three crafty pregnant ladies there.

We worked all morning until lunchtime and on…I made Curry Chicken Salad sandwiches, Liz made some Addictive Corn Dip, and black bean hummus, and Jen brought fresh veggies. I STUFFED myself!

Amelia made an amazing buttermilk pie…

Now, on to the crafts! One of the many things (friends, conversation with lovely ladies and fellow art teachers, making stuff, and “that’s what she said” jokes) I love about craft days is not having to have my conceptual hat on. I can just make stuff. 🙂

My craft happened to be a painted name sign for a teacher at school; she likes ladybugs…

Here is the finished product…

Liz made a really cool “altered book”. I can’t wait to do these in the fall with the art teachers…

Here is the almost finished product…

Amelia was working on a gift for a baby girl’s room…

Amber was making a plush, cube, ribbon toy for her baby boy coming in October…

Stitching the finishing touches…

Jen worked on several paintings…this girl can rock out some projects!

The first was an encaustic painting. I am convinced I’m going to order some encaustic trays for my classroom…


Whitney, due with a baby girl in October, made a plush cube too. This was her FIRST attempt at sewing and she did an amazing job!

Such fun! I wish we could do this once a month!

One thought on “Crafty Ladies

Leave a Reply

