Tour of My Art Room

This is the first time in going-on-9-years-of-teaching that I have had my room finished by the time school was in session. I’m usually scrambling last minute to get things ready but not this year!

Here’s a tour of my art room…

Image

Flat drawers for student portfolios, paper station, drying rack & my desk.

Image

SmartBoard, learning objectives, word wall and sink #1.

Image

Teaching area for the Kinder and 1st graders.

I have yet to find a good method for spots on the floor for the kids to sit. They usually just come in and sit; but it does cause issues when they want to sit to close to each other!

Image

“Think Spot” (I’ll clarify later), 3D art shelf and supply closet.

I am blessed with an enormously large supply closet!

And now for some close-ups!

IMG_7736

Art Sub Tub: I am loving this art sub tub! We (the elementary art teachers) made these together last year. We each brought a sub-friendly lesson plan and activity to fill it with. It also has class lists, emergency plans, my schedule and a map of the school. VERY HANDY!

Next to the sub tub is a tool kit. About half of those little individual drawers hold paper clips, binder clips, tape, post-it and pretty much all the stuff that clutters up my desk drawers.  The other half is labeled with each teacher’s name and will hold name tags for each student. I use these when I hang artwork around the school.

IMG_7735

 Something new that I’ve added this year is a supply table. It’s centrally located and easy to access for the classroom helpers. Usually I had all of the supplies on my abundance of counter tops but it wasn’t the easiest to reach for my little ones.

IMG_7729

BOOKS! These are for those that finish early. Storybooks are on the left and how-to-draw books on the right.

IMG_7737

The “Think Spot”…da-da-dum!

I rarely have to send anyone to this lonely little desk…

But, when I do they sure don’t like it! There’s a small space to work in, you don’t get to talk to your neighbors and you get a little note taken about the incident. Not fun! 😦

IMG_7702

These little bulletin boards are right outside my classroom. These will be for highlighted student artists and artwork throughout the school year. Right now I have examples from years past. We are beginning the second week of school tomorrow so I don’t have any current work to hang as of yet. Tomorrow we get to start that! Last week was all rules, procedures and tours of the art room!

Artwork starts tomorrow! I know the kids are excited!

Leave a Reply

