Pacifiers and Potty Training

I’m at a loss as to what to do first! G is absolutely obsessed with his pacifier, and he needs to be potty trained. He’ll be 2 in November and I’m not real sure if I should take the pappi (his moniker for it) away cold-turkey or work up to it. Do I potty train and pappi wean at the same time? I mean, the child asks for it anytime it’s not in his mouth! Does this explain it?

Image

 D was so incredibly easy to potty train. I’m thinking this one is going to be different. He knows what a potty is, can tell me when he’s gone, and can pee on the potty occasionally. Maybe it’s me…maybe I subconsciously want to keep him a baby awhile longer? Maybe I’m lazy? I don’t know, but I do know I need to get on it! November will be here before we know it!

Image

 As you can see, he doesn’t have the pappi in his mouth at this moment. Rarely does this happen! Sometimes when he’s busy he won’t ask for it. The real problem is naptime and bedtime. These will be crucial. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

